IASS 2023 logo header.jpg

April 2022


The symposium will be held on 10–14 July 2023 at Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Melbourne, Australia.



Engineers, architects, researchers and anyone interested in shell and spatial structures are invited to submit abstracts of 300–400 words in English.



Submission of abstracts:                                                Dec. 31, 2022

Notification of preliminary acceptance:                       Jan. 31, 2023

Submission of full papers:                                              Mar. 31, 2023

Notification of final acceptance:                                   Apr. 30, 2023

IASS 2023 Symposium - Announcement

IASS 2023 Symposium - Become a Sponsor

GPDP Award.jpg

Grand Prix Design Paris 2021 Gold Award - Nic Bao, Xin Yan and

Mike Xie


The Grand Prix du Design Paris known as the GPDP Award enjoys a high status in the global industrial design field. With the diversified integration and development of the international design industry, the French Design Institute has established the GPDP Award (Grand Prix Design Paris) for the global architectural design, interior design, and product design fields. It aims to recognize the most innovative and creative world-famous designers, well-known design institutions, and product vendors in architectural design, interior design, product design, and other fields that meet the international 5E design standards. RMIT CISM Team members Nic Bao, Xin Yan and Prof Mike Xie won the 2021's Best GPDP Award - GOLD Award (Best of Cultural Building) for their excellent project "Intelligent Form".

Grand Prix Design Paris (GPDP) 2021 GOLD Award 

Jiaming Ma - ACCM2021 Best Paper Award.jpg

ACCM 2021 Best Paper Award - Jiaming Ma


The ACCM Conference series started in 2013 with the ACCM-2013, ACCM-2015, ACCM-2017, ACCM-2019 successfully held in Sydney, Brisbane, Geelong, and Hobart, respectively.  The ACCM Conference is supported by the Association for Computational Mechanics (AACM) and has become a flagship event for the Australasian Computational Mechanics Community. ACCM 2021 brings researchers at the forefront in the field of Computational Mechanics together to discuss the recent advances in Computational Mechanics across disciplines and to exchange innovative academic and research ideas. Best HDR and ECR paper awards are presented to excellent researchers. Jiaming won the “HDR Best Paper Award”, entitled “Computational morphogenesis and experimental measurement of 3D leaf vein structure” at the conference of 5th Australasian Conference on Computational Mechanics in Sydney.

Australian Association for Computational Mechanics (AACM)

The 5th Australasian Conference on Computational Mechanics (ACCM 2021)

ACCM2021 Best Paper - Extended Abstract

Nic Bao - Research Award.jpg

RMIT Awards for Research Impact 2021 Winner - Nic Bao


RMIT Research Excellence and Impact Awards and Prizes recognise and celebrate the research achievements of staff, including Early Career Researchers and Higher Degree by Research candidates who have made significant contributions to research excellence and impact, and research training. The RMIT Prize for Research Impact – HDR (Higher Degree by Research) recognises an HDR candidate who can demonstrate the potential for significant impact of their research outside the academic community. The definition of impact for this award includes the demonstrable contribution that research makes to the economy, society, culture, national security, public policy or services, health, the environment, or quality of life, beyond contributions to academia. The selection of prize recipients is by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation based on recommendations of the Awards Panel. Nic Bao was awarded the prize for his outstanding performance on interdisciplinary research, exploring how buildings can be shaped and optimised through robotic fabrication in line with both architectural and structural design requirements in the past years.

2021 RMIT Awards for Research Excellence and Impact

Hang Prize.jpg

IASS Hangai Prize 2021 Winner - Jeff Lee


The Hangai Prize was established in 2001 in memory of Professor Yasuhiko Hangai (Japan, 1942-1998), a very active member of the IASS and its Executive Council.  In accordance with Professor Hangai's career-long encouragement for young people, the award recognizes young talented researchers, designers, and engineers working in the field of shell and spatial structures whose papers submitted to the annual IASS Symposium are judged to be most meritorious by the Hangai Prize Committee. Jeff Lee was awarded the prize for his outstanding paper on From ruled surfaces to Elastica-ruled surfaces: New possibilities for creating architectural forms.

International Association for Shell and Spatial (IASS)

YCA_Dingwen Bao.jpg

CAADRIA Young 2021 Winner - Nic Bao


The Young CAADRIA Awards was established in 2004, funded by CAADRIA and include sponsorship of conference registration fees and a certificate presented during the conference. The awards are allocated by the committee jointly formed by CAADRIA, the Paper Selection Committee, and the Conference Host and are based on the merit of the paper, contribution and relevance to CAADRIA and demonstrated the depth of research interest. Nic Bao was awarded the prize for his outstanding paper on SwarmBESO: Multi-agent and evolutionary computational design based on the principles of structural performance.

The Association for Computer-Aided Architectural Design Research in Asia (CAADRIA)

EnoQ_U6VEAE0PzZ (1).jpg

Victoria Prize for Science & Innovation 2020 Winner - Mike Xie


The Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation celebrates leadership, determination and creativity. It also highlights the many ways in which research and development of international significance are conducted in Victoria. This prestigious prize is for a scientific discovery or technological innovation, or a series of such achievements that significantly advances knowledge. The clear potential to produce a commercial outcome or other substantial benefits to the community is highly regarded.

Victorian Endowment for Science, Knowledge and Innovation (VESKI)